Organization and Structure

Organization and Structure

Farm Credit is made up of a group of financial cooperatives that serve local and regional markets throughout the U.S. and Puerto Rico. As cooperatives, each Farm Credit organization is owned by its customers, is governed by a board of directors primarily elected from these borrower-owners, and shares profits with its borrower-owners through patronage dividends. This unique structure keeps Farm Credit connected to the local communities we serve, and contributes to the strength and stability we've enjoyed for 100 years.

These nearly 80 Farm Credit associations are provided funding through one of four regional wholesale banks: AgFirst, AgriBank, CoBank and Farm Credit Bank of Texas. Farm Credit's funds are raised by the Federal Farm Credit Banks Funding Corporation, and insured by the Farm Credit Insurance Corporation.


Farm Credit is regulated by the Farm Credit Administration (FCA), an agency of the federal government created in 1933.